Latest News

Two Mumbai Professors Among the Awardees of National Award to Teachers 2023

Two Mumbai professors, Prof Raghavan B Sunoj from IIT Bombay and Prof Keshav Sangle from VJTI, have been honoured with the National Award to Teachers 2023 for their outstanding contributions to education. The awards ceremony will take place on September 5, 2023, during National Teachers' Day in New Delhi.

Mumbai, September 2, 2023 - In a proud moment for Mumbai's educational institutions, two distinguished professors have been selected for the prestigious National Award to Teachers 2023 for their remarkable contributions to higher education. The Union Ministry of Education announced that Prof Raghavan B Sunoj from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay and Prof Keshav Sangle from Veermata Jeejabai Technology Institute (VJTI) are among the 13 educators to receive this esteemed recognition.

Prof Raghavan B Sunoj: A Teacher Beyond Boundaries

Prof Raghavan B Sunoj, a renowned figure in the academic world, has been instrumental in transforming the teaching and learning experience at IIT Bombay. Known for his unwavering dedication to his students, Prof Sunoj has left an indelible mark on the institute. His unique approach to education, emphasizing concept-based learning with a problem-solving approach over rote memorization, has earned him widespread admiration.

A heartwarming aspect of Prof. Sunoj's teaching is his commitment to supporting students, particularly during stressful exam periods. Many students fondly recall how he would visit their hostels the night before exams to address their doubts and concerns. Despite not being active on social media himself, Prof Sunoj's chemistry teaching Facebook page has become a hub for students seeking help and guidance.

Prof Sunoj's commitment to education runs in the family, as his mother, K Vasantha Kumari, was awarded the National Award to Teachers for school education exactly 23 years ago.

Prof Keshav Sangle: Bridging Theory and Practice

Prof Keshav Sangle of VJTI has been a stalwart in the field of higher education since 2000. His approach to teaching in the Civil Engineering branch is marked by a strong emphasis on practical learning. Prof Sangle encourages students to take up internships, arranges site visits, and fosters collaborations with industry partners, providing them with a real-world perspective to complement their theoretical knowledge.

Currently serving as the Dean for Academics at VJTI, Prof Sangle extends his innovative teaching methods to various engineering branches offered by the institute. He also has a strong rapport with students, having served as the chief rector of VJTI hostels. His understanding of the diverse challenges faced by students, stemming from his own rural background, has enabled him to provide essential support to hostellers.

National Teachers' Award 2023: A Celebration of Excellence

The National Teachers' Award is a prestigious recognition that celebrates the exceptional contributions of educators across India. This year, 75 deserving teachers who have excelled in their respective fields will be honoured during the ceremony at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi on September 5, 2023, which coincides with India's celebration of National Teachers' Day.

In an effort to promote innovative teaching methods and community engagement, the nomination process for the awards was conducted online, encouraging public participation. Three separate Independent National juries, comprising eminent individuals, were tasked with selecting the outstanding teachers.

Each recipient of the National Teachers' Award will receive a certificate of merit, a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, and a silver medal. Additionally, awardees will have the opportunity to engage with the Prime Minister.

Expanding Recognition

This year's National Teachers' Award ceremony will include teachers from the Department of Higher Education and the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, extending the recognition to encompass a total of 50 school teachers, 13 educators from Higher Education, and 12 teachers from the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

The event not only recognizes the tireless efforts of educators but also underscores the critical role they play in shaping the future of the nation. Mumbai takes pride in the accomplishments of Prof. Raghavan B. Sunoj and Prof. Keshav Sangle, who have exemplified excellence in higher education.

Click Here for More Latest News