Institutional Activities

IIT BHU’s 10th convocation was held on April 10

:- In the convocation ceremony of IIT BHU, Electrical Engineering student Kushal Tibrewal flaunted his brilliance by getting the maximum number of 11 medals and awards (seven gold and four awards). Kushal Tibrewal was also awarded the President’s Gold Medal


By Deep Raj Deepak

Varanasi: Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) organized its 10th convocation on the April 10, 2022 at Swatantrata Bhawan. Degrees were awarded to 1,610 meritorious students of various disciplines and a rehearsal was held for the ceremony on Saturday. IIT BHU Director Professor Pramod Kumar Jain said that the Chief Guest S Somnath, Chairman of ISRO and Secretary, Department of Space, Padma Shri Dr. Kota Harinarayan, Chairman of the Board of Governors and Registrar (Charge) Rajan Srivastava were present in the convocation ceremony.

Awards distributed among stars:

Kushal Tibrewal, a student of Electrical Engineering, flaunted his brilliance by getting the maximum number of 11 medals and awards (seven gold and four awards) in the ceremony. Kushal Tibrewal was also awarded the President’s Gold Medal for overall excellence in academics at B.Tech level. RADS Abhijith of Electronics Engineering got eight medals and awards (five gold and three awards) and Pranav Dalal of Computer Science and Engineering got six gold, one silver and one award in various categories till the pinnacle of success by getting eight medals and awards.

Pulkit Gupta, Department of Metallurgical Engineering was awarded the Director’s Gold Medal for outstanding performance in all fields and displaying organizational and leadership abilities in the institute. Apart from this, Amitesh Panda from Chemical Engineering and Technology was awarded five gold, two awards, Samarth Chaudhary from Mechanical Engineering and Anushree Shekhawat from Pharmaceuticals Engineering and Technology four gold and one award each and Puru Dubey two gold and two awards from Civil Engineering.

Ex-alumni were also awarded:

A total of 9 alumni were honored with the Distinguished Alumnus Award 2021-22 at the convocation ceremony. These include Nikesh Arora, (EEE 89), CEO and President, Palo-Alto Networks Co Profession Jay Choudhary (ECE 80) CEO, President and Co-Founder, GeScaler and Pawan Kumar Jain (CHE 76) Site President and JMD, Reliance Industries Limited in Industry/Entrepreneurship Sector. Dr. Indu Bhushan (EEE81) former CEO, National Health Authority and Ayushman Bharat, Government of India and Dr. Arun Kumar Mehta (CIV 84) Chief Secretary, Government of Jammu and Kashmir, in public life for achievements. Prof. Kunal Karan (CHE 92) Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, University of Calgary and Prof. Banamali S. Rawat (EEE 68 and ECE 70) Professor, Department of Electrical and Biomedical Engineering, University of Nevada for Academics, Dr. Anand S. Moorthy (MET 87) Intel Fellow and Director, Intel Inc. and Kailash Kailash (ECE80) Co-Founder, GeScaler has been awarded the Distinguished Alumnus/Alumni Award for achievements in research and innovation.

Click Here for More Institutional Activities