Annual Convocation of IIT Roorkee

ROORKEE,  : The Annual Convocation of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) is being held on 6th and 7th October. Prof Subra Suresh, President of the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore presided over as Chief Guest for today's event and Shri. R.C. Bhargava, Chairman of Maruti Suzuki India Ltd, will be the Chief Guest on 7th October.
Undergraduate students received their degrees on 6th October while Masters and PhD students will receive their degrees on 7th October. A total of 2,026 degrees will be awarded this year out of which 949 (875 Male and 74 Female) UG students received their degrees today. A large number of parents attended the function.
In his welcome address, Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, highlighted the improvement in the Institute's rank in all the major rankings. "In the Global Times Higher education rankings, IIT Roorkee moved from the 500-600 band to 400-500 band. The rank improved by 50 positions in the QS rankings. Most significantly, IIT Roorkee was ranked the first among the IITs in terms of the number of citations per faculty."
Another key initiative was the number of startups associated with TIDES reaching 22, of which 16 were offered incubation. To avail better access of the NCR ecosystem, TIDES started an extension center in Greater Noida.”
Addressing the students, the Chief Guest, Prof Subra Suresh, President of the Nanyang Technological University said: “As an IIT graduate, you are also in a unique position to influence the course of human history as we enter the early stages of what many thought -leaders refer to as the Fourth Industrial Revolution or Industry 4.0. Simply put, Industry 4.0 is the unique and unprecedented convergence of the digital, the physical and the biological worlds. It is propelled by an exponential rate of progress in such fields as: personalized medicine; robotics; internet of things; artificial intelligence; machine learning; deep data analytics; block chain; additive manufacturing; autonomous systems; mobility; and more.
The question then is: how do we maximize the intended benefits of technology in Industry 4.0 while minimizing its unintended harmful consequences? How do we use technology so that we protect the environment in a sustainable way, and protect our planet where we will co-habit with as many as 10 billion fellow citizens in a few decades from now? How do we employ the latest in digital technologies while paying proper attention to such topics as cybersecurity, ethics, privacy, confidentiality and intellectual property?”
For the first time, IIT Roorkee is awarding gold medals to toppers in PG courses. The prestigious President Gold medal for obtaining highest CGPA amongst graduating UG students was awarded to Ayush Chauhan of B Tech, Electronics and Communication Engineering for obtaining 9.871 CGPA. 
The Director's Gold Medal for best all round performance was given to Mulchandani Vishal Haresh of Integrated M Tech, Geophysical Technology.  The Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal for excellence in academics and significant contribution in the field of social service was given to Saksham Agrawal of B Tech, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering. The Dr. Jai Krishna Gold Medal for excellence in academics and significant contribution in the field of youth leadership was awarded to Sharanpreet Singh of B Tech, Computer Science & Engineering.
List of medal winners:
President's Gold Medal
Ayush Chauhan, B Tech, Electronics & Communication Engineering
   Director's Gold Medal 
Mulchandani Vishal Haresh, Integrated M Tech, Geophysical Technology
     Dr Jai Krishna Gold Medal
Sharanpreet Singh, B Tech, CSE
Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal
Saksham Agrawal, B Tech, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Institute Silver Medal
Suraj Gupta, B Tech, CSE
Institute Bronze Medal
Aditya Prakash, B Tech, Electrical Engineering