Dr. Tessy Thomas, Chief Guest, iNaCoMM 2019, and Director General,Aeronautical Systems, Defence Research and Development Org., at IIT Mandi


  4th International   Conference on Machines and Mechanisms - iNaCoMM 2019


The aim of the conference is to create a cross-disciplinary summit that will transcend departmental, institutional, industrial, public and private research organisations and global barriers in the field of machines and mechanisms

MANDI,  : Indian Institute of Technology Mandi under the aegis of Association for Machines and Mechanisms (AMM) and the International Federation for the Promotion of Mechanism and Machine Science (IFToMM) is hosting the 4th International and 19th National Conference on Machines and Mechanisms (iNaCoMM 2019) from 5th to 7th December 2019. The conference is jointly sponsored by IIT Mandi, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Department of Science and Technology (DST), Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MEITY), Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) among others.  

iNaCoMM 2019 aims to bring together researchers, industry experts and students, working on various aspects of design and analysis of machines, mechanisms and robotics, to deliberate through oral and poster presentations on recent, novel advances. Along with several keynote lectures and contributory paper presentation by eminent researchers and experts from academia and industry, an exhibition by ISRO will also be a part of the event.

Dr. Tessy Thomas, famously known as the ‘Missile Woman’ of India, the first women scientist to head a missile project in India, was the Chief Guest of the conference.

Speaking during the event, Dr. Tessy Thomas, Chief Guest and Director General, Aeronautical Systems, Defence Research and Development Organisation, said, “I’d like to congratulate IIT Mandi for hosting the conference. We are surrounded by machines and mechanisms. Engineering has helped in every field, ranging from space to households, from defence sector to transportation. Indigenous development has seen tremendous progress in the past decade in mechanism as researchers have been making efforts to make life easier for humans. Indian aerospace has also contributed a lot in the growth of the country. This conference will create a forum for researchers to find solutions related human advancements.”

Along with Dr. Tessy Thomas, Shri. Jayant Patil, Whole Time Director, (Defence), Member of the Board, Larsen and Toubro Ltd., and Dr. P. V. Krishnan, Director, Capacity Building Programme Office (CBPO), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), attended the inaugural session of the conference as the Guest of Honour.

The purview of Machines and Mechanisms is very vast and encompasses the applications that include but are not limited to micromechanical systems, bio-medical devices, automotives, mechatronic systems automation industry, space science, and so on. Recent Research and Development activities clearly indicate the growing interest of engineers as well as scientists in this area; thus offering newer avenues for the generation, advancement and application of scientific knowledge.

Welcoming the gathering, Prof, B.D. Chaudhary, Emeritus Professor, School of Computing and Electrical Engineering, IIT Mandi, said, “iNaCoMM 2019 is creating a cross disciplinary summit that transcends public and private research organizations and lends itself to the integration of research and education in the vital field of machines and mechanisms. We have several professors from different disciplines in IIT Mandi who are working in the field of Machines and Mechanisms. This workshop saw the participation of faculty from various disciplines and is an example of the inter-disciplinary and collaborative environment on campus.”

The participants include research scholars, senior B. Tech and M. Tech students from reputed colleges and universities across the country, including IIT Kanpur, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, IIT Guwahati, IIT Roorkee and IISc Bangalore. Several participants from government agencies including Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR) are also attending the conference.

Speaking about the benefits of this conference, Prof. S.C. Jain, Conference Chairman and Emeritus Professor, School of Engineering, IIT Mandi, said, “iNaCoMM 2019 is expected to address the research need of the esteemed organizations namely ISRO, BHEL, DRDO and private industry and giving the opportunity to interact with research teams of the research and academic institutions of the country and outside.”

The major topics that are being discussed in this conference include:

  •  Kinematics and dynamics of machines, Compliant Mechanisms
  •  Robotics and automation
  •  Gear, Cams and power transmission systems
  •  Man-Machine System, Mechatronics and Micro–Mechanisms
  •  Fault diagnosis and health monitoring
  •  Biomedical Engineering
  •   Acoustic & Noise
  •  Mechanisms and Machines for Rural, Agricultural and Industrial Applications
  •  Mechanisms for Space Applications


iNaCoMM 2019 will help in identifying the latest developments and future trends in the topics covered as well as assess the overall importance. This will result in extensive exchange of information and networking among the participants in the new technologies leading to collaborative research projects in the future. 

An ISRO plenary session with Dr. P.V. Krishnan, Director, Capacity Building Programme Office (CBPO), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), as the Chief Guest and Commodore Mukesh Bhargava (Retd), Vice President, Member of the Board, L&T Defence, as the Guest of Honour will be held during the conference.

The key speakers delivering lectures in the conference include:

  Prof. Guirong Liu, University of Cincinnati, USA

 Prof. C. Amarnath, IIT Bombay

 Prof. Sambit Bhattacharya, Fayetteville State University, USA

 Prof. G. Anathasuresh, IISc Bangalore

 Prof. Subir Kumar Saha, IIT Delhi

 Prof. Alam Md. Mahbub, Shenzhen Graduate School of Harbin Institute of Technology, China

 Dr. S Guruprasad, Distinguished Scientist & Director-General – Production Coordination & Services, DRDO, Pune

 Dr. Lalit Singh, Scientist, NPCIL, Department of Atomic Energy, Govt of India, Bombay

 Dr. Veluri Sudhakar Scientist, Aeronautical Development Agency, Bangalore

Shri K.B. Batra, General Manager (Engineering), Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd. (BHEL), will be the Chief Guest of the valedictory session along with Dr. S. Guruprasad, Director General, Production Coordination & Services Interaction (PC & SI), as the Guest of Honour.

  A Students’ Mechanism Design contest is also being held during the conference with an objective to promote innovation among the students and encourage them to apply their knowledge in the domain of mechanisms and machines to solve problems relevant to society.